Skip to content

Height range · tall users first, short users too · 24 desks on one basis

Standing desks by height range: which ones really reach your elbows, tall or short

Brands quote maximum height in different ways. FlexiSpot and Desky give the frame alone, while UPLIFT and Vari include the desktop. That can hide an inch, and for tall people an inch decides whether a desk works. We put 24 desks on the same basis, with a 1-inch top, and worked out roughly how tall a user each one fits. Up to about 6′6″, the Vari 60x30, VIVO 2B6B and Desky Dual Bamboo all reach about 50 to 50.5 inches, and each has an Amazon listing that matches the model. The two desks that reach higher, the FlexiSpot E7 Plus (about 52.6 inches) and E7 Pro (about 51.6 inches), are currently unavailable on Amazon, so we list them below without links. Shorter users have the opposite problem, a desk that will not come down far enough to sit at, so a separate section covers the low end: a seated fit check, keyboard-tray guidance, a low-end height table and one extra pick for short users, the Secretlab MAGNUS Pro.

By BestOnAmz Research Desk · Published · Last updated

How we know this: we research, we don’t lab-test. Every height comes from the brand’s own page, manual or spec sheet, and is linked. The fit estimates are our arithmetic. Our method

Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Check that the listing shows the exact frame and its height range, then confirm the seller, return window and warranty on the listing itself. How affiliate links work

Quick picks

  1. Lifetime warranty, complete desk, direct listing

    Vari Electric Standing Desk 60x30 about 50.5″ with a 1″ top

    Not for: Users taller than about 6′6″: at 50.5 inches it leaves less than an inch of margin by our estimate.

  2. The lower-cost tall option, with a direct listing

    VIVO 2B Solid Top (DESK-KIT-2B6B) about 50.4″ with a 1″ top

    Not for: Deep monitor setups: the 23.6-inch depth puts screens closer than a 30-inch-deep top.

  3. Ten-year warranty and a 330 lb rating

    Desky Dual Bamboo about 50.2″ with a 1″ top

    Not for: Users who take Desky’s “5′ to 6′9″” user range at face value: by our elbow-height estimate the desk suits about 6′6″ with an inch to spare, and about 6′7″ with none.

24 desks, one basis: how high each one really goes

Your desk surface should sit at about elbow height, minus the keyboard. OSHA’s workstation guide puts the keyboard “at about elbow height”, and MEMIC’s sit-stand guidance subtracts the keyboard’s thickness from standing elbow height. OSHA’s purchasing checklist suggests standing keyboard heights of 36 to 46.5 inches, which is too low for many tall people.

To estimate elbow height from stature we use the classic Drillis and Contini proportion: elbow height is about 0.630 of body height, as reproduced in Winter’s biomechanics text and WPI course notes. Penn State’s OPEN Design Lab warns that individuals vary from these averages, so treat the result as a starting point. As a sanity check, UPLIFT says its 48.7-inch V2-Commercial fits standing users up to 6′3″. Our method puts that desk’s limit at about 6′3″ too, with an inch to spare.

DeskRange the brand publishesWhat that figure includesMax with a 1″ topTallest user, 1″ to spare (est.)Source
FlexiSpot E7 Plus (4-leg)26–51.6″Frame only (we add a 1″ top)52.6″6′9″Brand spec ↗
FlexiSpot E7 Pro25–50.6″Frame only (we add a 1″ top)51.6″6′8″Brand spec ↗
Fully Jarvis Bamboo, 3-stage frame25.75–51.25″Not stated (used as listed)51.25″6′7″Brand spec ↗
UPLIFT V2 (2-leg)25.3–50.9″Includes a 1″ top, or sold complete50.9″6′7″Brand spec ↗
VIVO PRO 60x24 (PRO-DESK-KIT-23B6B)25.1–50.7″Not stated (used as listed)50.7″6′6″Brand spec ↗
Vari Electric Standing Desk 60x3025–50.5″Includes a 1″ top, or sold complete50.5″6′6″Brand spec ↗
VIVO 2B Solid Top (DESK-KIT-2B6B)24.6–50.4″Not stated (used as listed)50.4″6′6″Brand spec ↗
Desky Dual Bamboo23.6–49.2″Frame only (we add a 1″ top)50.2″6′6″Brand spec ↗
Fully Jarvis Bamboo, 2-stage frame30–49.5″Not stated (used as listed)49.5″6′4″Brand spec ↗
FlexiSpot E722.8–48.4″Frame only (we add a 1″ top)49.4″6′4″Brand spec ↗
FlexiSpot E523.6–49.2″Not stated (used as listed)49.2″6′4″Brand spec ↗
Secretlab MAGNUS Pro25.6–49.2″Not stated (used as listed)49.2″6′4″Brand spec ↗
UPLIFT V2-Commercial22.6–48.7″Includes a 1″ top, or sold complete48.7″6′3″Brand spec ↗
VIVO E2 71x30 (DESK-KIT-E2B71B)29.5–48.3″Not stated (used as listed)48.3″6′3″Brand spec ↗
HUANUO dual-motor frame28.3–47.2″Frame only (we add a 1″ top)48.2″6′2″Brand spec ↗
Mount-It! 60″ dual motor29.3–48.2″Not stated (used as listed)48.2″6′2″Brand spec ↗
Autonomous SmartDesk Core29.4–48″Includes a 1″ top, or sold complete48″6′2″Brand spec ↗
VIVO E4 71x30 4-leg (DESK-KIT-E4BB)29.8–48″Not stated (used as listed)48″6′2″Brand spec ↗
Branch Duo28–47.8″Not stated (used as listed)47.8″6′2″Brand spec ↗
FlexiSpot EN127.9–47.6″ (page also lists 29–48.6″)Not stated (used as listed)47.6″6′1″Brand spec ↗
FlexiSpot EC127.9–47.6″Not stated (used as listed)47.6″6′1″Brand spec ↗
VIVO B06B 60x2428.6–46.7″Not stated (used as listed)46.7″6′0″Brand spec ↗
Sweetcrispy AdaptPro28.35–46.47″Not stated (used as listed)46.47″6′0″Brand spec ↗
SHW 55x28 memory preset28–45″ (page also says 28–46″)Not stated (used as listed)45″5′9″Brand spec ↗

Estimate: tallest user = (max height − 1″ margin) ÷ 0.63, assuming 1″ shoes and a 1″ keyboard, rounded down to the inch. Where a brand does not say whether its figure includes the top, we use it as listed; if it is frame-only, the desk goes about an inch higher. Brand pages accessed October 18–19, 2026.

Estimate the desk height you need

Enter your height. The estimate uses average body proportions, so your own elbow height can differ by an inch or more. If you can, measure it instead (see “How high should a standing desk be?” below).

Estimated desk surface height: 48.5 inches.

Reaches it with an inch to spare: FlexiSpot E7 Plus (4-leg), FlexiSpot E7 Pro, Fully Jarvis Bamboo, 3-stage frame, UPLIFT V2 (2-leg), VIVO PRO 60x24 (PRO-DESK-KIT-23B6B), Vari Electric Standing Desk 60x30, VIVO 2B Solid Top (DESK-KIT-2B6B), Desky Dual Bamboo.

Reaches it, with less than an inch to spare: Fully Jarvis Bamboo, 2-stage frame, FlexiSpot E7, FlexiSpot E5, Secretlab MAGNUS Pro, UPLIFT V2-Commercial.

What the table shows. Only eight of the 24 desks reach past 50 inches with a 1-inch top, and only the FlexiSpot E7 Plus reaches past 52, though it is currently unavailable on Amazon. Several popular desks stop around 48 inches, which by our estimate suits users up to about 6′2″ or 6′3″ with an inch to spare.

Brand claims run high. Desky says its Dual Bamboo suits users from 5′ to 6′9″. With its 1-inch top it reaches about 50.2 inches, which by our estimate fits about 6′6″ with an inch to spare, or about 6′7″ with none. FlexiSpot’s Amazon copy for its 48.4-inch E7 frame mentions a 6′5″ adult, which fits our estimate only with less than an inch of margin.

The picks, and who should skip each one

01 / Lifetime warranty, complete desk, direct listing

Vari Electric Standing Desk 60x30

Sold on Amazon as “Vari Classic Electric Standing Desk” · 25–50.5″ complete desk · about 50.5″ with a 1″ top · fits about 6′6″ with an inch to spare (est.)

Vari sells this as a complete desk with its 1.25-inch laminate top, listed at 25 to 50.5 inches. Vari’s warranty is lifetime for the original owner and includes the motors and electronics, the longest coverage here. Wirecutter calls it the sturdiest desk it evaluated.

Who it’s for

  • Users up to about 6′6″, by our estimate, who want the desk to arrive complete, with no top to source
  • Buyers who plan to keep a desk for many years and value the lifetime warranty
  • Quick setup: Vari says assembly takes minutes with its slide-and-lock legs

Who should skip it

  • Users taller than about 6′6″: at 50.5 inches it leaves less than an inch of margin by our estimate
  • Heavy loads: Vari rates it for 200 lb, the lowest capacity among our picks
  • Anyone who wants a crossbar: owners report minor side-to-side wobble above about 40 inches on newer versions without one

The trade-off: You get the longest warranty here (lifetime, original owner) and an easy build. You give up about two inches of reach compared with the FlexiSpot E7 Plus, which is currently unavailable on Amazon, and some load capacity.

Amazon buying notes

  • The Amazon listing we opened on October 19, 2026 was titled “Vari Classic Electric Standing Desk, 60x30, Walnut/Slate”, listed 25 to 50.5 inches, a 200 lb maximum and a lifetime warranty, and was sold and shipped by Vari.
  • The listing’s size selector also offers 72x30. We checked the 60x30 only.
  • Vari’s own site uses a different product number for its 60x30 page than the Amazon listing’s model number. Different finishes carry different numbers, so match the size and finish you want.

Where this comes from: Height, capacity and setup: Vari’s product page. Warranty: Vari’s warranty policy. Stability: Wirecutter’s standing-desk guide. Crossbar change: owner thread.

02 / The lower-cost tall option, with a direct listing

VIVO 2B Solid Top (DESK-KIT-2B6B)

3-stage, dual motor · 24.6–50.4″ · 60x24 one-piece top · about 50.4″ with a 1″ top · fits about 6′6″ with an inch to spare (est.)

VIVO lists this complete kit at 24.6 to 50.4 inches, using three-stage legs, the widest range among the VIVO desks in our dataset. It holds 220 lb and carries a 3-year warranty. VIVO does not say whether 50.4 inches includes the 1.1-inch top. If it does not, the desk goes about an inch higher.

Who it’s for

  • Users up to about 6′6″, by our estimate, on a tighter budget
  • A one-piece 60 x 24 top with no center seam
  • Households where a shorter person also uses the desk: it goes down to 24.6 inches

Who should skip it

  • Deep monitor setups: the 23.6-inch depth puts screens closer than a 30-inch-deep top
  • Buyers who want a long warranty: 3 years, against 10 to 15 years on several desks here
  • Heavy loads over 220 lb

The trade-off: It reaches nearly as high as the Vari for much less money. In exchange you get a shallower top, a shorter warranty and some doubt over how VIVO measures its maximum.

Amazon buying notes

  • The Amazon listing we opened on October 19, 2026 named DESK-KIT-2B6B, listed 24.6 to 50.4 inches with a 1.1-inch top and 220 lb, and was sold and shipped by VIVO.
  • Size trap: the same listing sells other sizes. VIVO lists the 55x28 version (2B55B) at 24.5 to 50.3 inches, and we did not check the frames of the larger sizes. Choose 60 x 24 if you want the figures above.
  • VIVO’s page gives 3 memory presets in its spec table and 4 in its marketing copy. The Amazon listing says 3.

Where this comes from: Height, capacity, warranty and presets: VIVO’s 2B Solid Top Series page. Listing details: the Amazon listing we checked.

03 / Ten-year warranty and a 330 lb rating

Desky Dual Bamboo

3-stage, dual motor · frame 23.6–49.2″ without desktop · 1″ bamboo top · about 50.2″ with a 1″ top · fits about 6′6″ with an inch to spare (est.)

Desky lists the frame at 23.6 to 49.2 inches without the desktop, and its bamboo top is 1 inch thick, so the finished desk reaches about 50.2 inches. It is rated for 330.7 lb and covered for 10 years on all parts.

Who it’s for

  • Users up to about 6′6″, by our estimate, who want a solid bamboo top and a long warranty
  • Heavy setups: 330.7 lb, the highest rating among our picks
  • Shared desks: the 23.6-inch minimum suits much shorter users too

Who should skip it

  • Users who take Desky’s “5′ to 6′9″” user range at face value: by our elbow-height estimate the desk suits about 6′6″ with an inch to spare, and about 6′7″ with none
  • Anyone reading the Amazon listing’s “Maximum Height 49.2 inches” as the finished height: that is the frame alone

The trade-off: It has a long warranty and the highest capacity of our picks, but about 2.4 inches less reach than the FlexiSpot E7 Plus, which is currently unavailable on Amazon. Desky’s own tall-user claim is more generous than the elbow-height math.

Amazon buying notes

  • The Amazon listing we opened on October 19, 2026 (Dark Bamboo, 60 x 30, gray frame) was sold and shipped by Desky USA and showed a 10-year supplier warranty and a 1-inch desktop. Stock was low.
  • The listing title says 1.6 inches per second while its spec table says 1.42. Desky’s site says 1.6 loaded. Speed matters less than height for tall users.
  • The ASIN is one finish and size. Other combinations appear on the same page.

Where this comes from: Frame range, desktop thickness, capacity, warranty and the user-height claim: Desky’s product page. Our fit estimate uses the elbow-height ratio explained below.

Short users: what matters at the low end

For short users the number that matters is the lowest height, not the highest. Every desk in our table goes high enough for a short person to stand at. Seated is where they differ: on the same 1-inch-top basis, the lowest points run from 22.6 to 30 inches.

The catch on Amazon: the desks that go lowest are the ones you cannot currently buy there. Of the desks with a buyable Amazon US listing on October 19, 2026, only four come down below 27.9 inches: the Desky Dual Bamboo and VIVO 2B6B (both about 24.6 inches), the Vari 60x30 (25 inches, finished) and the Secretlab MAGNUS Pro (25.6 inches). The first three are already our tall picks, which is why this is one height-range guide rather than two.

The seated fit check: is a desk low enough for you?

  1. Set your chair first: feet flat on the floor or on a footrest, thighs roughly level. OSHA’s purchasing checklist suggests chairs that adjust from 15 to 22 inches of seat height.
  2. Measure your seated elbow height: shoulders relaxed, elbow bent to about 90 degrees, floor to the underside of your forearm.
  3. Subtract your keyboard’s thickness. MEMIC’s method is that the work surface sits at elbow height minus the keyboard. That is the desk height you need when seated.
  4. Compare it with the “lowest with a 1″ top” column below. If your number is lower than a desk’s minimum, that desk is too high for you seated, whatever its maximum.

For reference, OSHA says keyboard height should adjust between 22 and 30 inches for seated work and 36 to 46.5 inches standing. A desk that bottoms out at 28 or 29 inches only covers the top of that seated range. UPLIFT says the ANSI/BIFMA G1-2013 range on its V2-Commercial, 22.6 to 48.7 inches with a 1-inch top, fits users from 5′0″ seated to 6′3″ standing, the most explicit statement in our sources of what “low enough” means for a five-foot user. Sources: OSHA purchasing guide · MEMIC (PDF) · UPLIFT V2-Commercial spec sheet (PDF)

Keyboard trays and other fixes when the desk is still too high

  • If your seated number comes out below a desk’s minimum, a keyboard tray is the standard fix. OSHA says a tray’s vertical range for sitting should include 22 to 28.3 inches from the floor.
  • Check clearance before you buy one: the tray’s track has to mount under the desktop clear of the crossbar, motor housing and control panel, and your knees need room under the tray itself.
  • The other option is to raise the chair until your elbows are level with the desktop, then add a footrest so your feet stay supported.
  • Our dataset has no keyboard-tray products, so we do not recommend a specific tray. The one desk sold with a tray in our dataset, a FEZIBO 48 x 24, returned Page Not Found on Amazon.

The low-end table: lowest height with a 1″ top

DeskRange the brand publishesWhat that figure includesLowest with a 1″ topAmazon US (Oct 19, 2026)Source
UPLIFT V2-Commercial22.6–48.7″Includes a 1″ top, or sold complete22.6″Page Not FoundBrand spec ↗
Fully Jarvis Bamboo, 3-stage low frame23–43.5″Not stated (used as listed)23″Currently unavailableBrand spec ↗
FlexiSpot E523.6–49.2″Not stated (used as listed)23.6″Only a UK listing, unavailableBrand spec ↗
FlexiSpot E823.6–49.2″Not stated (used as listed)23.6″Currently unavailableBrand spec ↗
FlexiSpot E722.8–48.4″Frame only (we add a 1″ top)23.8″No listing for the plain E7Brand spec ↗
VIVO 2B Solid Top (DESK-KIT-2B6B)24.6–50.4″Not stated (used as listed)24.6″BuyableBrand spec ↗
Desky Dual Bamboo23.6–49.2″Frame only (we add a 1″ top)24.6″BuyableBrand spec ↗
Vari Electric Standing Desk 60x3025–50.5″Includes a 1″ top, or sold complete25″BuyableBrand spec ↗
VIVO PRO 60x24 (PRO-DESK-KIT-23B6B)25.1–50.7″Not stated (used as listed)25.1″No US listing foundBrand spec ↗
UPLIFT V2 (2-leg)25.3–50.9″Includes a 1″ top, or sold complete25.3″Page Not FoundBrand spec ↗
Secretlab MAGNUS Pro25.6–49.2″Not stated (used as listed)25.6″BuyableBrand spec ↗
Fully Jarvis Bamboo, 3-stage frame25.75–51.25″Not stated (used as listed)25.75″Currently unavailableBrand spec ↗
FlexiSpot E7 Pro25–50.6″Frame only (we add a 1″ top)26″Currently unavailableBrand spec ↗
FlexiSpot E7 Plus (4-leg)26–51.6″Frame only (we add a 1″ top)27″Page Not FoundBrand spec ↗
FlexiSpot EN127.9–47.6″ (page also lists 29–48.6″)Not stated (used as listed)27.9″BuyableBrand spec ↗
Branch Duo28–47.8″Not stated (used as listed)28″BuyableBrand spec ↗
SHW 55x28 memory preset28–45″Not stated (used as listed)28″BuyableBrand spec ↗
VIVO B06B 60x2428.6–46.7″Not stated (used as listed)28.6″BuyableBrand spec ↗
VIVO E2 71x30 (DESK-KIT-E2B71B)29.5–48.3″Not stated (used as listed)29.5″BuyableBrand spec ↗
VIVO E4 71x30 4-leg (DESK-KIT-E4BB)29.8–48″Not stated (used as listed)29.8″BuyableBrand spec ↗
Fully Jarvis Bamboo, 2-stage frame30–49.5″Not stated (used as listed)30″Currently unavailableBrand spec ↗

Lowest height with a 1-inch top: frame-only figures plus 1 inch, top-inclusive figures as published, and unstated figures used as listed (if they are frame-only, add about an inch). Amazon status from our checks on October 19, 2026. Desks with no buyable listing are shown without links.

The shared picks, at the low end:

  • Desky Dual Bamboo: Desky quotes the frame at 23.6 inches without the desktop, so about 24.6 with its 1-inch bamboo top, the lowest finished height of any buyable desk in our table.
  • VIVO 2B6B: VIVO lists 24.6 inches but does not say whether that includes the 1.1-inch top. To be safe, assume about 25.7.
  • Vari 60x30: 25 inches is the finished height of a complete desk with its 1.25-inch top, so there is no top to add.

Short-user pick: the fourth buyable desk under 26 inches

Secretlab MAGNUS Pro

Dual motor · 25.6–49.2″ (Secretlab manual) · steel top with magnetic cable management

Secretlab’s manual lists 25.6 to 49.2 inches, which still sits in the lower half of OSHA’s 22–30 inch seated range. It is rated for 265 lb, moves at about 1.2 inches per second, runs under 50 dB and has 3 presets. The steel top is magnetic, for cable management.

Who it’s for

  • Short users whose seated fit check comes out at about 26 inches or more
  • A clean, cable-managed setup without separate trays and clips

Who should skip it

  • Users whose fit check comes out below about 25.5 inches: the Desky, VIVO 2B6B and Vari all go lower
  • Heavy setups: the top itself weighs 56.2 to 72.5 lb depending on size and counts against the 265 lb rating
  • Tall users over about 6′4″: 49.2 inches is near the bottom of our tall table

The trade-off: You get the tidiest top here. You give up about an inch of low-end reach against the Desky and VIVO 2B6B, and a chunk of payload to the steel top.

Amazon buying notes

  • Secretlab sells 1.5 m (59-inch) and 1.77 m (70-inch) tops. Pick the size, and confirm “MAGNUS Pro”, not the non-electric MAGNUS, in the listing title.
  • Secretlab does not say whether 25.6 inches includes the top. The desk ships with its top, so we use the figure as listed.
  • The manual sends you to Secretlab for warranty terms, which we did not capture. Check the seller, return window and warranty on the listing.

Where this comes from: Height range, load rating, speed, noise, presets and top weights: Secretlab’s assembly guide and user manual. No owner reports for this model are in our sources as of October 19, 2026.

Which one is for you?

If this describes youStart with
6′7″ or tallerNone of our linked picks leaves an inch of margin. Only the FlexiSpot E7 Plus (about 52.6″) and E7 Pro (about 51.6″) reach higher, and both are currently unavailable on Amazon (see “left out” below). Measure your elbow height before you settle for 50.5″.
6′4″ to 6′6″, you want the longest warranty and a complete deskVari Electric Standing Desk 60x30
6′4″ to 6′6″, budget matters mostVIVO 2B6B
6′4″ to 6′6″, heavy setup and a real wood topDesky Dual Bamboo
Shorter user, seated fit check at about 24.6″ to 25.5″Desky Dual Bamboo (about 24.6″ with its top) or Vari 60x30 (25″ finished)
Shorter user, budget matters mostVIVO 2B6B (24.6″ as listed; assume about 25.7″ if that is frame-only)
Shorter user, seated fit check at 26″ or more, and you want a cable-managed topSecretlab MAGNUS Pro (25.6″)
Seated fit check below about 24.5″A keyboard tray, or a raised chair and a footrest, with any pick. The desks that go lower are currently unavailable on Amazon
Up to about 6′3″13 of the 24 desks in our table reach at least 48.7″ with a 1″ top. UPLIFT says its 48.7″ V2-Commercial fits standing users to 6′3″. See our main standing desk guide

Neither especially tall nor short? Our standing desk buying guide starts from room size and setup, and budget complete desks covers lower-cost kits.

Tall-capable desks we considered and left out

FlexiSpot E7 Plus (4-leg): currently unavailable on Amazon

FlexiSpot lists the frame at 26 to 51.6 inches without a top, so about 52.6 inches with a 1-inch desktop. That is the highest reach of the 24 desks, on four legs rated for 440 lb lifting and 540 lb static, with 15 years on the frame, motors and electronics. Tom’s Guide (April 2025) called it exceptionally sturdy but complex to build and louder than quad-motor rivals. On October 19, 2026, the only Amazon listing we found for it (B0DZCYT2QX, titled “E4 Plus”) returned Page Not Found, and an Amazon search showed only FlexiSpot’s E6 family, which has different ranges. It is currently unavailable on Amazon, so we do not link it. FlexiSpot’s page also gives a 24–45.7″ range in one paragraph, which contradicts its own 26–51.6″ spec table.

FlexiSpot E7 Pro: currently unavailable on Amazon

FlexiSpot lists the C-frame at 25 to 50.6 inches without a top, so about 51.6 inches with a 1-inch desktop. It is rated for 440 lb with a 15-year warranty, and Business Insider timed it at 17.5 seconds from 25 to 50.6 inches. The Gadgeteer (March 1, 2024) noted slight wobble at standing height, and owners describe more near maximum. The Amazon listing titled “E7 Pro” (B08B3TZDW4) carried the plain E7’s specs (22.8 to 48.4 inches, 355 lb, a 5-year frame warranty) and was Currently unavailable on October 19, 2026. An Amazon search showed no E7 Pro. It is currently unavailable on Amazon, so we do not link it.

UPLIFT V2 (2-leg)

UPLIFT’s comparison sheet lists 25.3 to 50.9 inches including a 1-inch top, which would put it just above the Vari. We could not confirm its Amazon listing on October 19, 2026: Amazon returned a not-found page. UPLIFT’s own site now redirects the V2 page to its newer V3 frames, which are not in our dataset. UPLIFT does sell a V3 2-leg desk on Amazon under its own seller name; on October 19 that listing gave 25.3 to 50.9 inches with a 1-inch top. UPLIFT’s V3 C-frame spec sheet gives 22.6 to 48.7 inches with a 1-inch top, or about 50.9 inches with the optional foot spacers, so check which figure the exact listing and frame use.

Fully Jarvis Bamboo

Herman Miller’s store sells it with a 3-stage frame that reaches 51.25 inches, a 2-stage frame (30 to 49.5 inches) and a 3-stage low frame (23 to 43.5 inches). The Amazon listing in our dataset (B07PJW17ZT) is the 2-stage version, nearly two inches shorter than the frame a tall buyer wants. The 3-stage Extended Range listing (B086XMQ6MX) is the right frame, but both were Currently unavailable on Amazon on October 19, 2026, so we do not link either.

UPLIFT V2-Commercial

A sturdy frame with a crossbar and the ANSI/BIFMA G1-2013 height range. UPLIFT’s sheet says that range, 22.6 to 48.7 inches with a 1-inch top, fits users from 5′ seated to 6′3″ standing. That suits shorter and average users, and is too low for most people this guide is for.

FlexiSpot E7

A frame-only range of 22.8 to 48.4 inches (about 49.4 with a 1-inch top), with a 15-year warranty from FlexiSpot. It suits users to about 6′4″ by our estimate. It is the desk hiding behind the Amazon listing titled “E7 Pro”, so it is worth knowing what it is.

VIVO PRO 60x24 (PRO-DESK-KIT-23B6B)

Listed at 25.1 to 50.7 inches with a 330 lb frame rating and a 5-year badge on VIVO’s page, so it would reach slightly higher than the 2B6B. We found no Amazon US listing for it, so it is not a pick here.

Questions buyers ask about desk height

How high should a standing desk be for my height?

Set the desk so your keyboard sits at about elbow height with your shoulders relaxed. OSHA’s workstation guide puts the keyboard “at about elbow height”, and MEMIC’s method is your standing elbow height minus the keyboard’s thickness. Measure it: stand in your work shoes, bend your elbow to 90 degrees, and measure from the floor to the underside of your forearm. The calculator above estimates it from your height if you cannot measure.

Why do brands’ maximum heights differ for the same desk?

Some quote the frame alone and some include the top. FlexiSpot’s E7 range is “without top”. UPLIFT’s V2 range “includes a 1-inch desktop”. VIVO and Secretlab do not say. A 1.25-inch Vari top or a 1.5-inch slab changes the finished height again. Always add the top thickness to a frame-only figure.

Is OSHA’s 46.5-inch maximum enough?

Not for tall users. OSHA’s purchasing checklist suggests standing keyboard heights of 36 to 46.5 inches, which covers most adults. By the elbow-height estimate, a 6′5″ person needs a surface about 48.5 inches high, and a 6′8″ person about 50.4 inches.

Are 3-stage legs worth it if I am tall?

The extra stage mostly buys range. The Fully Jarvis is the cleanest comparison, because Herman Miller sells the same desk on two frames. The 2-stage frame travels 19.5 inches (30 to 49.5) and the 3-stage frame 25.5 inches (25.75 to 51.25), so the extra stage adds 1.75 inches at the top and 4.25 at the bottom.

Do taller desks wobble more?

Generally, yes. The legs extend further, so any play in the stages is magnified. Four-leg frames like the E7 Plus, and frames with a crossbar, resist sway better than C-frames. A deeper, heavier top and keeping heavy monitor arms close to the legs also help. Tighten every bolt after the first week.

How low should a standing desk go for a short person?

Low enough that, seated, the desktop sits at your elbow height minus your keyboard’s thickness (MEMIC’s method). Measure it rather than guessing from a height chart. OSHA puts seated keyboard height between 22 and 30 inches, and UPLIFT says the BIFMA range down to 22.6 inches with a top fits a 5′0″ seated user.

Is a keyboard tray a good workaround if the desk will not go low enough?

It is the standard one. OSHA says a tray’s seated range should include 22 to 28.3 inches from the floor. Check that the tray’s track clears the desk’s crossbar and motor housing, and that your knees fit under it.

What if no desk is tall enough?

A thicker top adds height to a frame-only desk: a 1.5-inch slab instead of a 1-inch top gains half an inch. Check the frame’s thickness guidance first; FlexiSpot says the E7 Plus takes tops over 0.7 inches thick. Then raise your screens with monitor arms, so you are not tempted to hunch over a low surface.

Sources: OSHA purchasing guide · OSHA neutral working positions · MEMIC sit-stand guidelines (PDF)

How we researched this guide

We research; we don’t lab-test. We did not buy, assemble or measure any of these desks. We took every desk in our 24-desk standing-desk dataset and recorded both ends of the height range from the brand’s own page, manual or spec PDF, noting whether the figure includes the desktop. We then added a 1-inch top to frame-only figures so all 24 sit on the same basis, at the top for tall users and at the bottom for short users. Stability notes come from named reviewers (Tom’s Guide, The Gadgeteer, Wirecutter, Business Insider) and owner threads, labelled as owner reports.

The fit estimate is our arithmetic. It applies the published 0.630 elbow-height ratio and MEMIC’s keyboard-thickness method to each desk’s maximum height. It is an estimate for average proportions, not a measurement of you.

Our criteria, in order: maximum height (or, for short users, minimum height) on a common basis, stability at full height, load rating, warranty, and whether we could confirm the exact frame on Amazon.

About Amazon: on October 19, 2026 we opened each linked listing to confirm the model, height range and seller. We could not find a correct, available listing for the FlexiSpot E7 Plus or E7 Pro: both are currently unavailable on Amazon, so they appear under “left out” without a link. The lower desks that would suit short users best (UPLIFT V2-Commercial, Jarvis low frame, FlexiSpot E5, E7 and E8) are also currently unavailable on Amazon, so they appear in the low-end table without links. We show no Amazon prices, star ratings or customer reviews. Prices and stock change, so check them on the listing.

Changelog

  • October 25, 2026: First published as a height-range guide, merging our planned short-user guide into this one. Twenty-four desks’ maximum and minimum heights put on a 1-inch-top basis from our standing-desk dataset. Three tall picks and one extra short-user pick (Secretlab MAGNUS Pro), all with matching Amazon listings. Seven desks considered and left out, including the FlexiSpot E7 Plus and E7 Pro, which are currently unavailable on Amazon. Amazon listings checked on October 19, 2026.

Corrections and updates: see our About page. How we research · Amazon listing checklist · Affiliate disclosure